• Print

Frequently Asked Questions



Q1: How can I get a copy of A Guide to Programs and Services for Seniors in Ontario?

Order the guide for free through the:

The guide is available:

  • in print and online in English, French, Arabic, Chinese - Simplified, Farsi, Gujarati, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Spanish, Tamil, Urdu, Vietnamese

Q2: Is there a program to help Ontario seniors with the cost of prescription eye glasses?

The Government of Ontario does not provide funding for prescription eye glasses. However, you may be eligible for financial assistance from Ontario’s Assistive Devices Program to help you with the cost of specialized glasses if you have long-term low vision or blindness. For more information on what kinds of visual aids are covered under the Assistive Devices Program visit the Visual Aids page external link on the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care website or call:

  • 416-327-8804 or 1-800-268-6021
  • 1-800-387-5559 for teletypewriter

Q3: Are there programs available to assist with the cost of dental care?

Some municipalities provide financial assistance for low income seniors for dental care. Contact your municipal, regional or district government office listed in your telephone directory for more information on community and seniors services. You may also call 211 (TTY: 1-888-340-1001) or visit www.211ontario.ca external link to get help finding information about services in your community.

Although the availability of services vary depending on the clinic, several universities and colleges offer dental care at a fee generally less than what private practitioners charge.

Q4: Are there any programs in Ontario that provide financial support for assistive devices, such as wheelchairs and scooters?

Yes. Ontario’s Assistive Devices Program will cover up to 75 per cent of the cost of assistive devices for Ontario residents with long-term physical disabilities. For more information on the program and how to apply, please visit the Assistive Devices Program page external link on the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care website or call:

  • 416-327-8804 or 1-800-268-6021
  • 1-800-387-5559 for teletypewriter

The Ontario March of Dimes also offers an Assistive Devices Program to help you buy, repair and maintain a wide variety of mobility or assistive equipment (including wheelchairs). To learn more:

Q5: Who can I contact if I have questions regarding elder abuse or suspect someone is a victim?

If you suspect that a senior is being abused in any way or if you require information, referrals, or personal support please call the Seniors Safety Line at 1-866-299-1011. This service is operated by the Ontario Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse and is available 24-hours a day, 7-days a week, in over 150 languages.

If you think that you or someone you know has been a victim of a theft, fraud or physical assault, you can also contact your local police department listed in the blue pages of your telephone directory. Some police services operate specific units with expertise in addressing elder abuse.

If you suspect that a senior is being abused or suffering from neglect, you can also contact your local Community Care Access Centre external link .

Q6: How do I get a senior's card?

Neither the Government of Ontario nor the Government of Canada produces a senior’s ID card. You may use a driver’s licence, birth certificate or passport to prove your age in order to receive discounts offered to seniors.

Here are three other options:

  1. Ontario Photo Card for Ontario residents 16 years of age and over who do not hold a driver's licence. The cost of the card, which is valid for a five year period, is $35.  Individuals may apply for the photo card at ServiceOntario centres external link . For more information, visit Ontario.ca/photocard external link or contact ServiceOntario:
    • 1-800-267-8097
    • 1-800-268-7095 for teletypewriter
  2. Old Age Security (OAS) Identification Card was issued to seniors prior to October 1st, 2013 who receive an OAS pension. The OAS pension provides a monthly payment at age 65 for seniors who have lived in Canada for at least 10 years. Existing cards in circulation remain valid.

  3. Canadian Citizenship Certificate for Canadian citizens. The citizenship certificate proves you are a Canadian citizen and contains the following information:
    • Your family and given names
    • Your date of birth
    • Your gender
    • Your effective date of citizenship

    Any Canadian citizen is entitled to apply for a citizenship certificate. The cost of a Canadian citizenship certificate is a one-time fee of $75. For more information about the Canadian Citizenship Certificate, please visit the Citizenship and Immigration Canada website external link or call:

    • 1-888-242-2100
    • 1-888-576-8502 for teletypewriter (8 a.m. to 4 p.m. your local time)

Q7: I am a low income senior - are there other financial support programs available to me in addition to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and Ontario's Old Age Security (OAS) pension? If I am eligible, how do I apply?

Both federal and provincial financial assistance programs require income information in order to determine eligibility. Therefore, it is extremely important that you file your personal income tax return each year.

The federal government administers the Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS) for low income seniors who already receive OAS.  The GIS is a monthly benefit that provides financial support on top of your OAS payments.  GIS payments are based on your annual income or combined income if you are married or have a common-law partner.

To be eligible for GIS, you must be 65 or older, already receiving OAS and meet the income requirements explained on the Service Canada website.

To apply for GIS, contact Service Canada and they will mail you an application. You must re-apply each year, and you can do this by filing your tax return.

For more information, please visit the GIS page external link on the Service Canada website or call Service Canada for more information:

  • 1-800-277-9914 for service in English
  • 1-800-277-9915 for service in French
  • 1-800-255-4786 for teletypewriter
  • The provincial government also offers the Guaranteed Annual Income System (GAINS) which ensures a guaranteed minimum income for Ontario seniors. There is no application necessary to receive GAINS, as it is determined by your income tax return. If you meet the eligibility requirements, your benefits will be determined automatically based on the information provided on your annual income tax return.

    For more information about GAINS visit Ontario.ca/gains external link or call the Ministry of Finance:

    • 1-866-ONT-TAXS (668-8297)
    • 1-800-263-7776 for teletypewriter

    Q8: Are there grants available to help seniors repair or renovate their home?

    The Ontario Government offers a Healthy Homes Renovation Tax Credit to help seniors and family members who live with them make their homes safer and more accessible. If you qualify, you can claim up to $10,000 worth of eligible home improvements on your tax return. The amount of money you get back for these expenses is calculated as 15 per cent of the eligible expenses you claim. For more information about the Healthy Homes Renovation Tax Credit visit Ontario.ca/healthyhomes external link or call:

    • 1-866-ONT-TAXS (668-8297)
    • 1-800-263-7776 for teletypewriter

    The Ontario Renovates Program offers financial assistance to help low income homeowners and landlords:

    • Make necessary repairs to bring a home to acceptable standards;
    • Increase accessibility; and
    • Create affordable rental housing.

    Funding for accessibility repairs is available up to a maximum of $3,500. The Ontario Renovates program is made possible through the Investment in Affordable Housing for Ontario program, which is funded by the federal and provincial governments. For more information about how Ontario Renovates is delivered in your area, whether you are eligible and how to apply, contact your local Service Manager external link .

    The Ontario March of Dimes offers a Home and Vehicle Modification Program which provides funding for modifications to help Ontario residents remain in their homes or have accessible transportation. For more information:

• Imprimer

Foire aux questions



Q1: Comment puis-je obtenir une copie du Guide des programmes et services pour les personnes âgées de l'Ontario?

Commandez gratuitement le guide de l'une ou l'autre des façons suivantes :

Le guide peut être obtenu :

  • en copie imprimée en en ligne en anglais, français, arabe, chinois simplifié, farsi, gujarati, italien, coréen, polonais, portugais, punjabi, russe, espagnol, tamoul, ourdou, vietnamien.

Q2: Existe-t-il un programme qui aide les personnes âgées de l'Ontario à couvrir le coût de lunettes de vue?

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario ne verse pas de fonds pour couvrir le prix des lunettes de vue. Toutefois, vous pourriez être admissible à de l'aide financière du Programme d'appareils et accessoires fonctionnels de l'Ontario pour couvrir le prix de lunettes spécialisées si vous avez une baisse de la vue à long terme ou une cécité. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les sortes d'appareils visuels qui sont pris en charge par le Programme d'appareils et accessoires fonctionnels, visitez la page des aides visuelles lien externe du site Web du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, ou composez le :

  • 416 327-8804 ou 1 800 268-6021
  • 1 800 387-5559 pour le téléimprimeur

Programme d’appareils et accessoires fonctionnels
1 800 268-6021 (sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto : 416 327-8804
ATS : 1 800 387-5559

Q3: Existe-t-il des programmes pour contribuer au coût des soins dentaires?

Certaines municipalités offrent de l'aide financière aux personnes âgées à faible revenu pour couvrir les frais de soins dentaires. Communiquez avec votre bureau municipal, régional ou de district dont les coordonnées figurent dans l'annuaire téléphonique, pour de plus amples renseignements sur les services communautaires et aux personnes âgées. Vous pouvez également composer le 211 (ATS : 1 888 340-1001) ou visiter http://www.211ontario.ca/?locale=fr lien externe, pour savoir comment trouver des renseignements sur les services offerts dans votre collectivité.

Bien que la disponibilité des services varie selon la clinique, plusieurs universités et collèges offrent des soins dentaires à un coût moindre que les dentistes privés.

Q4: Existe-t-il des programmes en Ontario qui fournissent de l'aide financière pour des appareils fonctionnels, comme des fauteuils roulants ou des scooters?

Oui. Le Programme d'appareils et accessoires fonctionnels de l'Ontario prendra en charge jusqu'à 75 pour cent du coût d'accessoires fonctionnels pour les résidents de l'Ontario qui ont des handicaps physiques de longue durée. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme et la demande de fonds, visitez la page du Programme d'appareils et accessoires fonctionnels lien externe du site Web du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, ou composez le :

  • 416 327-8804 ou 1 800 268-6021
  • 1 800 387-5559 pour le téléimprimeur

L'Ontario March of Dimes offre aussi un programme des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels pour vous aider à acheter, faire réparer et entretenir divers appareils fonctionnels et d'aide à la mobilité (dont des fauteuils roulants). Renseignements :

Q5: Qui puis-je contacter si j'ai des questions au sujet de mauvais traitements envers des personnes âgées ou si je soupçonne quelqu'un d'être une victime?

Si vous pensez qu'une personne âgée est maltraitée de n'importe quelle façon ou si vous avez besoin d'information, de renvois ou d'aide personnelle, appelez la Ligne de sécurité pour les personnes âgées, au 1 866 299-1011. Ce service est offert par l'Ontario Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse, 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept, dans plus de 150 langues.

Si vous pensez que vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez êtes victime d'un vol, d'une fraude ou d'une agression physique, vous pouvez aussi contacter le bureau de police local en composant le numéro figurant dans les pages bleues de l'annuaire téléphonique. Certains services de police sont dotés d'unités spécialisées dans les mauvais traitements envers les personnes âgées.

Si vous soupçonnez qu'une personne âgée est maltraitée ou qu'elle souffre de négligence, vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires local lien externe.

Q6: Comment obtenir une carte de personnes âgées?

Ni le gouvernement de l'Ontario ni le gouvernement du Canada ne délivre de carte d'identité pour personne âgée. Vous pouvez utiliser votre permis de conduire, votre certificat de naissance ou votre passeport pour prouver votre âge afin d'obtenir les rabais offerts aux personnes âgées.

Voici trois autres options :

  1. La carte-photo de l'Ontario délivrée aux résidents de l'Ontario de plus de 16 ans qui ne possèdent pas de permis de conduire. Le coût de la carte, qui est valide pendant cinq ans, est de 35 $. Les personnes intéressées peuvent demander la carte-photo dans les centres de ServiceOntario lien externe. Pour plus de renseignements, visitez Ontario.ca/carte-photo lien externe ou appelez ServiceOntario au :
    • 1 800 267-8097
    • 1 800 268-7095 pour le téléimprimeur
  2. La carte d'identité du Programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse (SV) a été délivrée aux personnes âgées qui touchent une pension de SV, avant le 1er octobre 2013. La pension de SV constitue un paiement mensuel que les personnes qui vivent au Canada depuis au moins dix ans reçoivent une fois par mois. Les cartes existantes en circulation restent valables.

  3. Le certificat de citoyenneté canadienne délivré aux citoyens canadiens. Le certificat de citoyenneté prouve que vous êtes un citoyen canadien et contient les renseignements suivants :
    • Vos nom et prénom;
    • Votre date de naissance;
    • Votre sexe;
    • La date à laquelle vous êtes devenu citoyen.

    Tout citoyen canadien a le droit de demander un certificat de citoyenneté. Le coût du certificat est de 75 $ (à payer une seule fois). Pour des renseignements sur le certificat de citoyenneté canadienne, visitez le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada lien externe ou composez le :

    • 1 888 242-2100;
    • 1 888 576-8502 pour le téléimprimeur (8 h - 16 h, heure locale).

Q7:Je suis une personne âgée à faible revenu. Y a-t-il d'autres programmes d'aide financière auxquels je peux être admissible à part le Régime de pension du Canada (RPC) et la pension du programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse de l'Ontario? Si j'y suis admissible, comment procéder?

Aussi bien les programmes d'aide financière fédéraux que provinciaux exigent des renseignements sur le revenu pour déterminer l'admissibilité. Il est donc extrêmement important que vous déposiez votre déclaration d'impôts personnelle chaque année.

Le gouvernement fédéral administre le Supplément de revenu garanti (SRG) pour les personnes âgées à faible revenu qui reçoivent déjà la SV. Le SRG est une prestation mensuelle qui s'ajoute aux paiements de SV. Les paiements du SRG se fondent sur votre revenu annuel ou votre revenu combiné si vous êtes marié ou si vous avez un partenaire de fait.

Pour être admissible au SRG, vous devez avoir au moins 65 ans, déjà recevoir le SV et remplir les exigences de revenu que sont décrites sur le site Web de Service Canada.

Pour demander une prestation de SRG, contactez Service Canada. Il vous enverra une demande à remplir. Vous devez présenter une demande chaque année. Vous pouvez le faire en déposant votre déclaration d'impôts.

Pour plus de renseignements, visitez la page du SRG lien externe sur le site de Service Canada ou composez les numéros suivants :

  • 1 800 277-9914 pour des services en anglais;
  • 1 800 277-9915 pour des services en français;
  • 1 800 255-4786 pour le téléimprimeur.

Le gouvernement provincial offre également le Régime de revenu annuel garanti (RRAG), qui assure un revenu minimum garanti aux personnes âgées de l'Ontario. Il n'est pas nécessaire de soumettre une demande pour recevoir une prestation en vertu du RRAG. Si vous remplissez les exigences d'admissibilité, vos prestations seront établies automatiquement selon les renseignements figurant dans votre déclaration d'impôts annuelle.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le RRAG, visitez Ontario.ca/RRAG lien externe ou appelez le ministère des Finances au :

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (668-8297);
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour le téléimprimeur.

Q8: Y a-t-il des subventions qui aident les personnes âgées à réparer ou rénover leur domicile?

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario offre un crédit d'impôt pour l'aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être afin d'aider les personnes âgées et les membres de leur famille qui vivent avec elles à rendre leur domicile plus sécuritaire et accessible. Si vous qualifiez, vous pouvez réclamer jusqu'à 10 000 $ pour des améliorations admissibles au logement sur votre déclaration d'impôts. Le montant que vous récupérez pour ces dépenses représente 15 % des dépenses admissibles que vous réclamez. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le crédit d'impôt pour l'aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être, visitez Ontario.ca/logementbien-etre lien externe ou composez le :

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (668-8297);
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour le téléimprimeur.

Le programme Rénovations Ontario offre de l'aide financière pour aider les propriétaires à faible revenu et les locateurs à :

  • faire les réparations nécessaires pour ramener le logement aux normes acceptables;
  • augmenter l'accessibilité;
  • créer des logements locatifs abordables.

Les prestations pour des réparations visant à rendre le logement plus accessible se montent au maximum à 3 500 $. Le programme Rénovations Ontario est possible grâce au programme Investment in Affordable Housing for Ontario, financé par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les services du programme Rénovations Ontario dans votre région, votre admissibilité et la façon de demander une subvention, contactez votre gestionnaire de services local lien externe.

L'Ontario March of Dimes offre le programme Home and Vehicle Modification Program (programme de modifications du domicile et du véhicule) qui fournit des fonds pour des modifications destinées à aider les résidents de l'Ontario à demeurer dans leur logement ou à obtenir des transports accessibles. Renseignements :